• Bookmark

    Punchbowl

2021 CUSTOMER CHOICE AWARD

Ratings On Other Platforms

Trustpilot
4.8 / 5
Better Business Bureau
4.7 / 5
Corporate Values

Overview

Punchbowl has a consumer rating of 4.77 stars from 833 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Consumers satisfied with Punchbowl most frequently mention birthday party, guest list and customer service.Punchbowl ranks 1st among Event Planning sites.

  • Service
    32
  • Value
    32
  • Shipping
    7
  • Returns
    9
  • Quality
    32

This company responds to reviews on average within 5 days

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 41.7%
Positive
5
Neutral
1
Negative
6
View ratings trends
21
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • It was easy to choose a fun design for my son's 5th birthday party and manage the guest list.
  • The first time I used Punch Bowl was for a last minute birthday party for my daughter and it worked great.
  • 2021 Customer Choice Winner

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate Punchbowl?
Top Positive Review

“Over the Top”

L M.
7/31/21

I wanted to say thank you for creating this service. Your application enabled me to set myself apart from other applicants in my hiring pool. A few months ago, I began being interviewed by Microsoft for several opportunities. It took a few rounds to align me with the proper opportunity; but the distinguishing factor during each round was the fact that I would send a Punchbowl Thank You Card. With your help, I eventually won them over and was offered a role to come aboard a couple of months ago. I really want to say thank you!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“I NEED MY MONEY BACK. SCAM ALERT”

Brooke V.
9/30/20

I thought I was getting a FREE service as their website mentions until you want your invites to last longer than 3 days. So I signed up for the $6.99 plan, but get charged $83.88! I need my money back NOW. I will take this to BBB and further. This is no more than a scam! Issue my money back without lying saying 30 days guranteed. I will erase my review when I get a refund! I would never oay $83.88 for a one time event online invites!

See critical reviews

Reviews (833)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

guest list (41) birthday party (42) customer service (29)
brookev37
1 review
6 helpful votes
September 30th, 2020

I thought I was getting a FREE service as their website mentions until you want your invites to last longer than 3 days. So I signed up for the $6.99 plan, but get charged $83.88! I need my money back NOW. I will take this to BBB and further. This is no more than a scam! Issue my money back without lying saying 30 days guranteed. I will erase my review when I get a refund! I would never oay $83.88 for a one time event online invites!

* Punchbowl attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Hi Brooke. We hear you and we're sorry you're upset. Some of our memberships offer a free trial period, after which you are charged for the membership. You see that charge because you signed up for an Annual membership and when the trial period lapsed, payment for the membership was processed in full.

We would be happy to cancel the membership for you. Please send an email to help@punchbowl.com and mention you spoke with us here on Sitejabber. You should hear back from us within an hour. - Meghan in Marketing

lorip519
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 5th, 2022
Verified purchase

I had an issue but the Customer Service was great and took care of things very quickly. I would recommend this Company!

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
jillh393
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 6th, 2020

This website markets itself as being fee, then prompts you to pay a monthly fee. If you cancel the membership before the year is up they charge you the entire annual fee. Very misleading. Also I took a membership to be able to send invites for a work party, I'm assuming our firewalls don't allow it. I was charged for a year for a service that essentially useless to me. Do not recommend.

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

We're sorry you didn't have a good experience. It sounds like you signed up for an annual membership. Please know that you can use Punchbowl completely for free -- either through our mobile apps or when you start a free trial (just cancel anytime during the 3-day free trial period and you will not be charged). You can also cancel anytime and we have a 30-day money-back guarantee, no questions asked. Please reach out to help@punchbowl.com if you have any questions. - Meghan in Marketing

patriciaw690
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 12th, 2020

Had an account from a year ago where you could send cards for free. Now it is subscription only and it looks as though cheapest option is $24 a year. Billed annually. I just wanted to send a mother's day card and spent thirty minutes on it when I discovered the new fee. I would have paid the $2 monthly but when I went to confirm it showed $24 for a yesr. Just be aware before you dive into card msking. It's not free. Nice cards though which made it doubly disappointing.

* Punchbowl attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Hi Patricia. We hear you and we’re sorry you had a frustrating experience when you created your card. We tried to reach you via direct message to help resolve this. Please email us at help@punchbowl.com and mention you spoke with us here on Sitejabber. We would be happy upgrade your membership for free. We want you to be happy! - Meghan in Marketing

lm332
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 31st, 2021

I wanted to say thank you for creating this service. Your application enabled me to set myself apart from other applicants in my hiring pool. A few months ago, I began being interviewed by Microsoft for several opportunities. It took a few rounds to align me with the proper opportunity; but the distinguishing factor during each round was the fact that I would send a Punchbowl Thank You Card. With your help, I eventually won them over and was offered a role to come aboard a couple of months ago. I really want to say thank you!

Products used:
E-Greetings Card and Thank You Letters.

Service
Value
Quality
thomasd632
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 29th, 2021

They have her spend her time under the impression that the service is free with ads until she hit "send invitation". That's when you find out that all your time has been wasted if you don't join a minimum $6.99/month program. Sure, you can cancel anytime, blah blah blah - but they can f*- off as far as I'm concerned with that type of tactic.

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

We hear you and we’re sorry you are upset. From time to time, we experiment with different user interface and pricing. We would be happy to upgrade you for FREE. Simply send an email to help@punchbowl.com and mention you connected with us here. You’ll hear back from us within an hour. - Danny in Marketing

panosh3
1 review
4 helpful votes
June 12th, 2020

Was trying to send a mothers day card. After spending so much time to make it, I was getting "oops something went wrong" message in the final step". Tried to make it all over again 3 more times but still didnt work.
Worst part is it isn't free, it claims that you can send a card with ads included, but finally it forces you to pay a subscription. STAY AWAY

* Punchbowl attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Hi Panos. We experienced a temporary service interruption on Mother's Day due to unprecedented site traffic. We're really sorry you didn’t have a good experience. We would be happy to upgrade you for FREE. Simply let us know your account details and you’ll hear back from us soon. We want you to be happy!
In terms of a subscription, you can use Punchbowl completely for free to personalize and send Digital Greeting Cards -- either through our mobile apps or when you start a free trial (just cancel anytime during the 3-day free trial period and you will not be charged). You can cancel anytime and we have a 30-day money-back guarantee.
- Meghan in Marketing

samanthar307
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 27th, 2020

I've used Punchbowl for my son's birthday parties and other events over the past few years and the website is wonderful, the electronic cards and invitations are great but more than that, the customer service is spectacular! Help is there when you need it. Real humans with the knowledge and desire to help are quick to respond. I highly recommend Punchbowl.

victoriaa273
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 10th, 2021
Verified purchase

Most critical reviews already talk about how they advertising as 'FREE' and then force you to pay a misleadingly worded FULL YEAR LUMP SUM subscription of $50+ to send your card at all, more if you don't want a MCDONALDS AD playing on top of it - making them more slimy money, and surely ruining the sincerity of your now very costly Condolences.

On top of this - although it advertises on Canadian google, I was able to sign up and pay from Canada, with Canadian currency from a Canadian address - it failed to mention that most gift cards they offer apparently are ONLY valid in the US. So I just wasted money on a Christmas gift my friend can't even use, fantastic.

The volume of complaints the poor customer service employees receive must be insane...
They really should clarify their model and stop obscuring info with misleading phrasing and omitted important details.

Tip for consumers:
If you're Canadian - don't risk paying for a gift card.
For anyone - there are so many better, actually FREE sites to use. Especially for sending only a few cards, save yourself the headache.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Victoria - I'm so sorry you didn't have a good experience. Please know that you can use Punchbowl completely for free -- either through our mobile apps or when you start a free trial (just cancel anytime during the free trial period and you will not be charged). You can also cancel an active membership at any time and we have a 30-day moneyback guarantee, no questions asked. In terms of gift cards, while the majority of gift cards that we offer for purchase are redeemable in the U.S. only, there are a few brands that are redeemable in Canada. Please reach out to help@punchbowl.com if you have any questions. We're here to help! - Meghan in Marketing

marquiettas
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 29th, 2020
Verified purchase

When I first planned my daughters' party I was considering doing her invitation through etsy.com, but it was extremely difficult to navigate. I started planing with Chuck E. Cheese and once I did my deposit I was offered free birthday e-vites from Punchbowl. I was able to find the theme she liked, caption the way I want it and more all for no extra charge at all. They also put everyone in a group so it's easy to view who can and can not attend. Very easy to navigate as well.

lorif393
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 22nd, 2020

Punchbowl has lightening speed response time if you need help. When I send out cards or invites from Punchbowl - I get tons of compliments. Very Affordable. I use this all the time within our small office. We have 19 team members. Great Morale booster for making any day a little less blah - but especially while we are working remotely. Thank You Punchbowl!

Lori

michelep215
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 12th, 2020
Verified purchase

In these days of social distancing, I still wanted to have an extra special 80th birthday party for my mom. I was happy to see there were so many suitable remote party invitation options which I could easily edit leading to the perfect invite. (Not too complicated for the seniors yet with color and animation to make it special.). It was so easy to personalize, add more people, send a reminder, etc. Our Zoom party was great and it all started with an "easy invitation."

darreled
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 8th, 2020

Punchbowl customer service is exceptional. I took strong issue with the "small print" policy of charging a full year membership that can cancel anytime - bc you don't get your prorated money back! HOWEVER, customer service responded quickly to correct the issue. Punchbowl has terrific products so I am happy they resolved the matter so I can keep using the site without worrying about hidden fees.

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Darrele - I'm so glad to hear our team was able to help. A couple things I want to mention: We have a 30-day money back guarantee on all our memberships, so it's always possible to get a refund, and we also offer monthly memberships if you prefer to pay month-to-month and cancel after just one month. Please don't hesitate to email us at help@punchbowl.com if you have questions! - Sarah in Marketing

mayrac29
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 25th, 2020
Verified purchase

This is my second time using Punchbowl. It's so simple and easy to create your invitations. I'm usually always late handing out physical invitations, but this has been absolutely life changing. You can send invitations in a timely manner and send them again as the party date is coming up. You can track your guests by number that will attend and age (adults/children/infants). And it's free!

cl452
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 6th, 2021

The annual cost for the lowest level membership is $35.88. This level allows only 10 cards per month. (No problem though, the card selection is so poor it would be impossible to find 10 cards to send) After a considerable amount of time finding an acceptable card, the decent customization options offer a bit of hope. Unfortunately, hope is short-lived. The card is finally finished and ready to be scheduled for sending at a later date. But wait, scheduling is only available if the membership is upgraded to the next level. Add another $12. Bottom line, punchbowl.com is a dreadful experience. DO NOT waste money by joining. There are other ecard sites that are far superior at a lower price. Also, be cautious of the signup process. It is extremely misleading!

Value
Quality
sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Hi, thanks for reaching out and for your feedback. We're so sorry you didn't have a good experience. We offer hundreds of digital greeting cards in our collection, all of which can be personalized. If there are certain designs that you'd like to see added, please let us know! We also offer different subscription plans to suit your needs. The Advanced level membership does give you the ability to schedule cards in advance and has other features and benefits not offered at the lower membership level. If you have specific suggestions about the signup process, we would welcome your feedback. Please send us an email at help@punchbowl.com anytime. We're here to help and want you to be happy. -Meghan in Marketing

beckys228
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 23rd, 2020
Verified purchase

The Punchbowl App made organizing my husband's surprise birthday easy. I was able to communicate with guests under the radar. There are user friendly features and fun graphics in the selection of cards. I liked it so much I purchased a membership to send cards during quarantine.

gloriab171
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 20th, 2020
Verified purchase

This was my first experience with punchbowl in planning my grandson's 13th birthday party at Urban Air. They made the planning effortless for me yet very productive & efficient. I was extremely pleased with them from the initial planning, implementation, complete product as well as followup. I would definately recommend their services & look forward to using their services again for future events!

palakk7
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 15th, 2021

I paid for this website for a 3.99 card which is already expensive as heck, but I got charged 35.88 because they charged me for the ENTIRE year. I am furious right now because I KNOW I did NOT pay 35 dollars for an e-card. Seems like a scam website since a lot of people have had this exact problem. DO NOT PUT YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO INTO THIS WEBSITE. I will not take down this review until I get my hard-earned money back! Still waiting for a reply, and no they have NOT attempted to contact me, like it says under their other bad reviews!

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Hi Palak. Thanks for reaching out. I’m so sorry you didn’t have a good experience. You saw this charge because you signed up for an annual membership. For annual memberships, the charge for the full year of membership is issued at the start of the billing period instead of being charged month-to-month. Not to worry, you can cancel anytime and we have a 30-day money-back guarantee, no questions asked. We haven't received any requests from you asking for a refund. Please email us with your account details at help@punchbowl.com so we can locate your account and issue the refund. We’re here to help and want you to be happy! - Meghan in Marketing

brianac41
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 18th, 2021

It used to be completely free to be able to send invites. I know because back in February 2020 I sent invites out for my wedding that unfortunately had to get postponed due to Covid. Well, this year we are throwing our wedding again and wanted to use last years Punchbowl invite... to my surprise now they charge you to send it out. Can't justify the price, when it used to be free a year ago.

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Hi Briana. We hear you and we’re sorry you are upset. From time to time, we experiment with different user interface and pricing. You can still use Punchbowl completely for free through our mobile apps. That being said, we want you to be happy, and would like to upgrade you to a complimentary membership for free. Please send us an email to help@punchbowl.com and mention you connected with us here on Sitejabber. You’ll hear back from us within an hour. - Meghan in Marketing

janicer139
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 4th, 2020
Verified purchase

Sending e-cards with Punchbowl has been a blessing. Very easy to use and a pretty good assortment of resources to choose from which stay free. I had a slight issue about a year ago (totally me) and was able to get a representative to assist in resolving my concern in a timely fashion. I do know that I was very appreciative for the immediate response.
I'm a paid subscriber to the basic plan and I can say, my experience over the past 2 years has been good.

elizabethb1160
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 5th, 2020

I initially wasn't thrilled with this service but their customer service and marketing teams followed up with me immediately and resolved my issues quickly and painlessly! Updating my review accordingly.

This is basically a very simple contact management software service with the sole purpose of sending invites and managing RSVPs. Unless you are hosting 6 or more events per year, this is a waste of $95. I am a little salty because I found the evite to be average at best and will never use this site again, mostly because I am disappointed at the price point for what I perceive to be little value.

georgej486
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 9th, 2021

This site wastes your time then it tries to take your money for a very worthless service! Do not go to their website.

sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Hi George. Thanks for reaching out. I'm so sorry to hear you didn’t have a good experience. Can you tell us more about what happened so we can help resolve it? Please send us an email at help@punchbowl.com. We're here to help and want you to be happy. - Meghan in Marketing

jessies143
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 24th, 2020
Verified purchase

Thanks Punchbowl! You made inviting people to our party so easy! My focus was on making the one and only high school graduation celebration fun, meaningful, and (COVID) safe. The event turned out great! It was fun for all - especially the grad!
Punchbowl supported my efforts by being so creative and user-friendly! I've already recommended you to my friends! Let's hope we have more celebrations again soon!

anastasiao9
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 15th, 2021

It says the cards are free, but to send a card you have to buy a subscritpion.
So what is free about that?
They say the cards have advertisements on them unless you buy the expensive subscription.
Who would want pay for a card for someone and then have it come with advertisements.
They tell you the cost: will be X$ per month. They never say they will charge your card for a whole year up front. My one "FREE" card cost cost $60. I was able to get a refund. But they refuse to make the true facts more visible so others aren't cheated.

Value
Quality
sarahw420
Punchbowl M. – Punchbowl Rep

Hi Anastasia. I'm so sorry you didn’t have a good experience. You can use Punchbowl completely for free to personalize and send Digital Greeting Cards -- either through our mobile apps or when you start a free trial. Cancel anytime during the 3-day free trial period and you will not be charged. We also have a 30-day money-back guarantee, no questions asked.

On the upgrade page we explain the monthly value of the membership and also the full amount you will be billed.

Hopefully this clears up any confusion. Please send us an email at help@punchbowl.com if you have any questions. We're here to help. - Meghan in Marketing

kathye175
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 21st, 2020
Verified purchase

Using Punchbowl Invitations & Ecards has saved me money and A LOT of time over the past couple of years! Using this program has made it much easier to send an invite, collect the data of attendees, send reminders, and send Ecards to those I care for but sometimes don't take the time to slip a note in the mail. It's cute, fun, and user-friendly! The friends and family that receive the cards and invitations always comment on how fun and new this is. Thank you for thinking up such a wonderful program!

Q&A (11)

Answer:

This is not true. Customers can cancel their Punchbowl membership at anytime. When you sign up for a new membership, you get a free 7 day trial. At the end of the 7 day trial period, the charge for membership will be issued. We have both monthly and annual memberships available. If you are not satisfied with your membership, we have a 30-day money-back guarantee and would be happy to offer a full refund if it is requested during that window.

By Punchbowl M.,
See more answers (4)
Answer:

If you connect guests on your guest list, yes! Punchbowl offers a unique Family Connect feature, which allows you to connect families and couples on your guest list. Guests will see who in their family is invited, and members of the family can even RSVP for each other. This ensures an accurate guest count. Hosts can then see these RSVPs on the Manage Invitation page. More information about this feature may be found here: https://www.punchbowl.com/family-connect

By Punchbowl M.,
See more answers (3)
Answer:

Absolutely. They ask if you want to send yourself a Test card so you can see exactly what your invited guests will see. You can then make modifications if you choose. It's good to do this because the format that you input is slightly different than what they will see.

By Corinne B.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

Hi Delroy - Our invitations are digital, not paper. They can be personalized and then delivered by text message, email, or social media. Please email us at help@punchbowl if you have any other questions we can help answer!

By Punchbowl M.,
See more answers (2)
Answer:

Hi. Thanks for reaching out. You can send invitations to up to 50 guests completely free from the app. For large events with more than 50 guests, you will need to upgrade to a paid membership. Please reach out to help@punchbowl.com if you have any questions! We're here to help. - Danny in Marketing

By Punchbowl M.,
Answer:

Hi Anne. Thanks for reaching out. We're sorry you're not able to open the invitation. Can you please send us an email at help@punchbowl.com with the email address or phone number the invitation was sent to and any information you have on the sender of the invite? You should hear back from us within an hour. Thanks! -Meghan in Marketing

By Punchbowl M.,
Answer:

Hi Mary. Thanks for reaching out. We're sorry the recipient ran into some trouble. Can you please send us an email at help@punchbowl.com with your account details so we can help you look into this? You should hear back from us within an hour. Thanks! -Meghan in Marketing

By Punchbowl M.,
Answer:

Hi Laura. Thanks for your question and feedback! At this point in time we do not have the option to make one-time purchases. We do offer a 30-day money back guarantee on our memberships, and you can send up to 50 invitations and 10 cards per month for free from our iOS or Android app! Please feel free to reach out to help@punchbowl.com if you have any other questions. We're here to help! -Meghan in Marketing

By Punchbowl M.,
Answer:

Hi Kimberly - Can you tell us a little more about what you're trying to do? Are you trying to send an invitation? When you build a guest list and enter the individual recipient email addresses, they will not be able to see each other's contact information. They will be able to see who is invited (name only), but we give you the option to hide your guest list: https://help.punchbowl.com/article/98-how-do-i-show-or-hide-the-guest-list If you're sending to a group email address (a distribution list that goes to many people), this article will help: https://help.punchbowl.com/article/325-can-i-send-my-invitation-to-a-group-email-address If you're trying to do something else, please give us some more detail here or feel free to email us at help@punchbowl.com and we'd be happy to help!

By Punchbowl M.,
Answer:

Great question! The text on the invitation is the same for every guest. You can find more information about our customization options here: https://www.punchbowl.com/customization Please feel free to send an email to help@punchbowl.com if you have any questions. We're here to help!

By Punchbowl M.,

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Punchbowl staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Punchbowl makes it easy to create and send beautiful, free online invitations and digital greeting cards from your phone, tablet or desktop.

Company Representative

sarahw420
Punchbowl M.
Typically responds within 5 days

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Punchbowl?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Punchbowl?